Governor Appoints New Maryland Lotto Director, Sports Betting Chair

Written By Dann Stupp on July 1, 2021 - Last Updated on July 7, 2021
Maryland Lotto head

Maryland’s governor has named some appointees for the Maryland Lottery and Gaming Control Agency, as well as the Sports Wagering Application Review Commission (SWARC).

Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan announced his selections on Wednesday.

John A. Martin will serve as the new head of the Maryland Lotto.

Additionally, Thomas M. Brandt Jr. will chair the new Sports Wagering Application Review Commission. Hogan appointed both Brandt and Bert Hash Jr., who is the final selection for the seven-person commission.

Who is Maryland Lotto head John A. Martin?

Martin has recently served as the MD Lotto’s managing director and chief revenue officer.

He replaces Gordon Medenica, who announced his retirement in April.

Medenica was a Hogan appointee who was tapped to run the $2.5 billion agency in 2015. The MD Lotto set numerous revenue and profit records during his tenure. A longtime lottery executive and Lottery Industry Hall of Fame member, Medenica also previously worked for the lottos in New York and New Jersey.

In a statement during last month’s announcement, Hogan praised Medenica for his “commitment to customer service, and to honesty and integrity.”

Martin will now take over those duties, which include overseeing six Maryland casinos. He’ll also manage the relationships between the MD Lotto and its 4,400 retail partners, including convenience stores, gas stations, and supermarkets.

Martin joined the MD Lotto in 2015 after working for the Ohio Lottery. The John Carroll University graduate has primarily overseen the MD Lotto’s sales force, corporate accounts, and retailer recruitment during his time with the agency.

Sports betting commission now set

With his appointees, the seven-person Sports Wagering Application Review Commission is now complete.

Hogan was tasked with selecting two of the members, including the SWARC chairperson.

That role goes to Brandt, the former chief financial officer for the Annapolis-based TeleCommunication Systems. The CPA graduated from Duke University (management science) and Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania (MBA). He recently served on the Board of Trustees for the State Retirement and Pension Systems. He also serves on the Board of Trustees for Teachers and State Employees’ Supplemental Retirement Plans.

Hash, meanwhile, is a banking and financial services vet. He’s also the retired president and CEO of the Municipal Employees Credit Union of Baltimore.

Like other members, though, neither has much gaming or sports betting experience to speak of.

The commission will ultimately decide which sportsbooks will be permitted to operate in Maryland. They’ll especially look for involvement from minority-owned companies.

Other commission members include:

  • Laura Gamble
  • Rosie Allen-Herring
  • E. Randolph Marriner
  • Cassandra Stevenson
  • Frank Turner
Photo by AP / Brian Witte
Dann Stupp Avatar
Written by
Dann Stupp

View all posts by Dann Stupp
Privacy Policy