Live Heisman Trophy Betting Odds

The Heisman Trophy is awarded annually to the most outstanding college football player in FBS (Football Bowl Subdivision, also known as Division I-A). There isn’t a more celebrated individual award in the sport. Any player who wins it automatically cements their place in college football history.

With that prestige comes interest from the betting public, and sportsbooks respond by posting Heisman odds during the offseason. If you’ve never bet this market, see below for how to bet on the next Heisman winner in Maryland.

Heisman Trophy odds

See below for the latest Heisman betting odds posted at Maryland online sportsbooks. Click on any odds to go directly to the sportsbook, claim your MD sports betting bonus and get your Heisman bets in.

How Heisman Trophy betting works

The Heisman Trophy market is one of the most popular futures for college football bettors. This type of bet is unique because it is based on individual performance rather than how a team performs over the course of the season. Similar to other futures bets, most options also have lucrative odds and potentially high payouts.

A look at betting lines from the DraftKings Sportsbook app will show you exactly how Heisman Trophy odds are laid out:

Heisman Trophy odds at DK Sportsbook

Heisman odds are first released during the spring, months before the season begins in late August. Heisman betting lines remain open through the summer and into the regular season, when the action on the field (and among the betting public) begins to shift the odds.

Keep in mind that this wager will not be officially settled until the ceremony following the regular season.

Heisman Trophy betting trends

The Heisman Trophy was first awarded in 1935, so we have a huge database of information to study. However, if you’re looking for some trends to rely on, you can comb through some recent history as a guide. Here are some Heisman Trophy betting tips and trends to keep in mind.

  • Quarterbacks generally win: If you’re looking for the most likely winner, check under center. From 2000 to 2020, a quarterback won the award on 17 occasions. The betting odds will be lowest for QBs, but you have the best chance of winning.
  • Watch the good teams: Team success can’t win a player the Heisman, but being the best player on a very good team can go a long way. Make sure your bets are on players whose personal success will lead to team success.
  • Juniors and seniors tend to win: Most times, the Heisman goes to upperclassmen. That’s true historically and recently, as six of the past seven winners have been juniors and seniors. Until Johnny Manziel in 2012 and Jameis Winston in 2013, no freshmen had ever won.

The past 10 Heisman Trophy winners

With nearly 100 years of history, the Heisman Trophy has been hoisted by dozens of legendary players. Many of them, especially recent winners, have gone on to wildly successful NFL careers.

Here are the Heisman winners from the past decade:

2021Bryce YoungQBAlabama
2020Devonta SmithWRAlabama
2019Joe BurrowQBLSU
2018Kyler MurrayQBOklahoma
2017Baker MayfieldQBOklahoma
2016Lamar JacksonQBLousiville
2015Derrick HenryRBAlabama
2014Marcus MariotaQBOregon
2013Jameis WinstonQBFlorida State
2012Johnny ManzielQBTexas A&M

Eight of the past 10 winners played the quarterback position, with a running back and receiver also winning. It goes to show that football has become an offensive game. Defensive players rarely receive much consideration these days.

More NCAA football futures odds

Online sportsbooks in Maryland offer Heisman Trophy odds from the offseason through late into the regular season, at which time the lines disappear. But in addition to this award, there are several other college football futures markets to bet on at any given time. Many of them have lucrative odds and the potential for large payouts. The futures betting options include but are not limited to:

  • Heisman Trophy winner
  • College Football Playoff (CFP) champion
  • CFP finalist
  • Conference winner
  • Conference finalist
  • Division winner

Heisman Trophy FAQ

When is the Heisman Trophy awarded?

The Heisman Trophy is handed out in December or January after the regular season has ended. Intended to be a regular-season award, the trophy is given out during bowl season leading up to the College Football Playoff.

Who votes for the Heisman Trophy winner?

Media members who cover college football from across the United States are selected by the Heisman Memorial Trust to vote on the winner. In total, there are 870 media votes for the Heisman.

Which team has the most Heisman winners?

The record for Heisman Trophy winners is seven. Oklahoma, Notre Dame, and Ohio State all stand tied for the lead.

Who had the best Heisman season?

It’s tough to say, but we’ll toss out a strong contender. While at USC in 1981, Marcus Allen tore defenses apart for 2,427 yards and 23 total touchdowns. He became the first running back to surpass 2,000 rushing yards in a regular season and walked away with one of the most impressive Heisman victories to date.

Has a freshman/sophomore won a Heisman?

Johnny Manziel became the first freshman to win the award in 2012, and Jameis Winston immediately followed as the second freshman. Both players were redshirt freshmen, we should note. To this point, no true freshman has won.

Who designed the Heisman statue?

Sculptor Frank Eliscu was chosen to create the trophy in 1934 and used a player on the New York University football team as the primary model.

Privacy Policy